OM Meditation Tool
Meditation Chanter & Timer

Daimoku Mantra


Chanting this mantra, also known as 'Daimoku' or the Lotus Sutra, is the primary practice of millions of Buddhists throughout the world. The "Mystic Law governing all life" was uncovered from the Life Span Chapter of the Lotus Sutra and given to the world by the Japanese Buddhist Monk, Nichiren. It is thought to help the practitioners in their quest for enlightenment, similar to what Buddha achieved.


is derived from the Sanskrit 'namas' meaning 'devotion to' or 'to devote oneself'. It refers to the correct actions and attitude required to attain Buddhahood.


is made up of two words MYO meaning mystery or miracle and HO meaning principle or doctrine. Together, it refers to the Mystic Law - the supreme law of Buddha. MYO refers to the very essence of life that manifests in a tangible form, HO, that can be percieved by the senses.


means lotus flower, derived from REN (lotus) and GE (flower). The lotus blooms and produces seeds at the same time, and thus represents the simultaneity of cause and effect. The circumstances and quality of our individual lives are determined by the causes and effects, both good and bad. In essence, through our karma (deeds), we are responsible for our own destiny.


literally means sutra, the voice or teaching of a Buddha. In a broad sense, KYO conveys the concept that all things in the universe are a manifestation of the Mystic Law.

The literal meaning of 'Nam Myoho Renge Kyo' is that I am one with the Mystic Law of cause and effect of my life. You achieve real happiness when you recognize that it is your good (or bad) deeds that bring you good (or bad) and amend your ways for the better.

The practice of chanting Daimoku is a means to enable all people to put their lives in harmony or rhythm with the law of life, or Dharma. The purpose of chanting daimoku is to attain perfect and complete awakening.

The Daimoku is the Japanese translation of the Sanskrit Lotus Sutra - Saddharma Pundarika Sutra - which translates to "Scripture of the Lotus Blossom of the Fine Dharma".

The seven characters na-mu-myo-ho-ren-ge-kyo are written down the centre of the gohonzon, the mandala venerated by most Nichiren Buddhists. People beginning to practice Nichiren Buddhism generally start by chanting this mantra for a few minutes, morning and evening.

Universal Mantras
Om Mantra
Mrityunjaya Mantra
Shree Yantra Mantra
Shanti Mantra
Yoga Mantra
Guru Mantra
Enlightenment Mantra
Oneness Mantra
Universal Mantra
Hindu Mantras
Ganesha Mantra
Vishnu Mantra
Shiva Mantra
Gayatri Mantra
Krishna Mantra
Hanuman Mantra
Saraswati Mantra
Durga Mantra
Maha Mantra
Surya Mantra
Shani Mantra
Buddhist Mantras
Lotus Mantra
Daimoku Mantra
Green Tara Mantra
Medicine Buddha
Breathe Meditation
Silent Meditation
Soham Mantra
Sikh Mantras
Mul Mantar
Jain Mantras
Namokar Mantra